jump to navigation

The Geek on Holiday November 27, 2007

Posted by Chris in Navel Gazing.
trackback

Just in case anyone out there is curious, I’ve been doing the family Thanksgiving thing for the last week or so, so I haven’t had the time to post any new reviews.  I had been going at a pretty steady pace of two or three a week, with a new one usually posted Monday evening, but I didn’t have time to finish last night’s post, so it’ll be another day or so before I can finish it.  Kym:  it’s a Firefly installment, “The Message”.  We’re approaching the end of the Firefly series, so I’m thinking about what comes next.  Any suggestions?

Comments»

1. Kym - November 28, 2007

There is no end to Firefly!!! :sticks fingers in ears and hums loudly:

I don’t do any other tv. I don’t even have one.

Yikes.

I think I’m panicking.

I’ve been relying on you to give me my Firefly fix.

Let’s prolong this. How about taking each character and analyzing them? :hopeful grin:

Oh, my GOD, no more Firefly….

2. Chris - November 28, 2007

Hmmm…character analysis? Perhaps….I’ll have to give that some thought…

I feel like I’m FOX announcing to you that I’m canceling the show. What a let-down.

I assume you’re like me and you’ve been watching all your Firefly on your computer using DVDs. Any chance I can turn you on to other Sci-Fi shows? No doubt you’re aware that I love BSG and I’m about to go retrograde and start posting on the first season (I’ve been doing the 3rd season so far). Do you have access to Season 1 BSG DVDs? It would be very cool to have us watching something in tandem.

Other shows I’m thinking about posting on include Star Trek TNG (just got the full series DVDs for my birthday), Earth2 (a series from the 90’s that started out great but slid into obivion towards the end of its first and only season), the original Star Trek series (don’t have DVDs — very hokey, but I still love that show), and maybe Babylon 5 (don’t have the DVDs for this either — never really got into the show when it was on, but it has a loyal fanbase…might be worth it).

Firefly Forever!!! :fist and lighter in the air: 😉

3. Kym - November 29, 2007

Okay, I’ll try not to equate you with FOX. I’ll ask for BSG season 1 for Christmas. A lot of Firefly fans seem to like BSG…

:wipes tears, lifts chin bravely:

I’ll try it.

:turns away with a whimper:

4. Chris - November 29, 2007

Exactly! Perfect Christmas gift. Actually, a lot of the people who worked on Firefly ended up going over to work on BSG. You can see it in the special effects and the set designs…all that worn, used, beat-up aesthetic for the technology. I wouldn’t be surprised if some of the writers were the same people, too. In one of the first scenes in the pilot/movie, we’re shown a shot of Caprica City where space ships are landing and taking off, and if you stay alert, you’ll see Serenity flying by, put in as an homage to Firefly.

Like you say, a lot of Firefly fans are also BSG fans, too. But watch out for those jerk-fans on those BSG sites, like you mentioned a while ago. It’s definitely a show in large part about the military and people in the military, so I think you get a lot of that “Hoo-Rah” attitude in the fans as well….an unfortunate by-product of an otherwise excellent show.

Don’t whimper, though…it’s not fair…my dog would do that and it always worked, of course (whimper/whine = “open the door for me to go outside;” or = “It’s time for you to take me for a walk, damn it, you neglectful, lousy dog-owner!”). Now it seems like my kids have learned from the dog…they go into whimper/whine-mode almost right away when they want something…aaarrgghhhh. Obviously, this means that I’m a sucker for it in some perverse way, or it wouldn’t have been an effective strategy for them or the dog.

5. Kym - November 29, 2007

Does this mean that if I mention the single tear dripping down my cheek to splash on my trembling upper lip, you will relent? Cause I am a mother and quite capable of guilt tripping if it works;>

6. Chris - November 29, 2007

I’m clearly one of those suckers born every minute…

7. Kym - November 30, 2007

Does that mean more Firefly??? :hopeful grin:

Seriously I asked for BSG 1. But I am worried that it will be too militaristic and cold (my main complaint with much of sci fi)

8. Chris - November 30, 2007

Hmmm…that may be a problem, but then again, maybe not. The fact is that the series is character-driven, and I would expect that once you get into this aspect of the show, you won’t feel like it’s cold and you’ll be able to put up with the militarism. The other thing about the series is that the characters are all flawed and prone to mistakes, not unlike the Firefly characters. That said, you should be ready for the fact that it’s a “dark” story, but for me, the tie-ins to contemporary issues like 9-11, the war in Iraq, terrorism, etc. all make it very compelling. The writers don’t see any of this in black-and-white, but emphasize the fact that everyone is struggling to figure out what’s right and wrong. Just like our current troubles, the characters often get it wrong, but there’s no clear right path either. I hope you’ll get into it as I have.

9. Kym - November 30, 2007

Most important is great characters so hopefully I’ll enjoy it. My oldest son was awestruck that I wanted BSG1 so that may make the series worthwhile right there. Its fun to be a cool mom;>

10. Chris - November 30, 2007

Ahhhh…the cool mom factor…excellent.


Leave a Reply

