jump to navigation

Iron Man: Worth Every Penny May 3, 2008

Posted by Chris in Interesting News.
Tags:
trackback

I saw Iron Man last night and got quite caught up in it.  This is a SciFi TV blog, so I’ll keep this post about a movie brief. 

Downey and Stark Discover Their Potential Despite Personal Vulnerabilities

Robert Downey Jr. was a perfect choice for this role.  It’s great to see him doing good work and looking healthy after so many years of trying to kill himself with drugs.  This aura of personal vulnerability worked well for his portrayal of Tony Stark, the super hero who needs to keep a high-powered magnet embedded in his chest to keep bits of shrapnel he was hit with from migrating to his heart.  Jeff Bridges did a great job of playing the mentor-turned-villain.

It goes without saying that the special effects were incredible, but I’ll state the obvious:  The special effects were incredible!  Ahem….excuse me for that brief outburst.  That said, there are a few moments that stretched credulity for me.  In particular, there are several scenes where Stark crashes at very high speeds into concrete walls and floors that nobody could have survived, even if encased in a super-powered exo-skeleton.  But, these moments were all in good fun.  I could explain them away in my mind by reminding myself that the story was based on a comic book and the standards for realism sometimes seem to get distorted in translations to film.

It should be interesting to see how this movie plays with audiences.  I attended an opening night viewing at the Grand Lake Theatre in Oakland, and while it was not sold out, there was a solid mass of enthusiastic fans, excited to see a favorite comic come to the screen.  So while has definitely been built up to be a blockbuster release, it’s not clear if it’s going to make a big enough splash to be considered a success.  Perhaps we’ll see it become a sort of sleeper hit/blockbuster hybrid where the initially modest box office receipts are driven up over the coming weeks by enthusiastic fans and positive reviews by the critics.  I hope so!

Comments»

1. Kym - May 3, 2008

My husband and two oldest boys are chomping at the bit, hoping to go next weekend. I’m glad to hear that it is going to be a fun ride for them.

2. Chris - May 3, 2008

I’d say it’s almost a sure thing (though they might get it built up in their minds and when they see it, it doesn’t live up to expectations…seems like this happens a lot with me).

3. Kym - May 3, 2008

Hmmm, Maybe I should tell them it was only so-so? Nah, the ride is so long (1.5 hrs each way) they need all the sustenance they can get.

4. Dan - May 4, 2008

I just got back from seeing it. This is, in my opinion, the best Marvel movie to date. Downey was born to play Tony Stark. I’m not a fan of “origin” movies for comic book characters–I hate sitting through two-thirds of a movie before the hero actually shows up (really selfish I know…I mean, I know what their deal is, doesn’t mean everyone else in the theater does)–but this was one origin story that was fun to watch: a guy building a robot suit. What’s not to love.

Favreau shows everyone who comes after him that making a comic book movie is not rocket science…even when it is a bout a rocket scientist. These things practically make themselves. Let them.

Bridges was a delight. He actually made me quite uncomfortable in a few places. And, I love how he decided to shave his head for the role because he’d never done it for a movie before and just wanted to.

The Dark Knight is officially on notice. I think Iron Man is the movie to beat this summer.

5. Chris - May 4, 2008

Kym: Man — 1.5 hours…you guys are really out in the “sticks”. Not that it’s a bad thing, mind you. Just amazed me to hear it again. I’m sure the young boys and the young boy in your husband will all appreciate the movie and the drive will just be part of the adventure.

Dan: I’m with you 100%, and I think you really hit the nail on the head with Favreau making it look easy…isn’t that the mark of talent? The ability to make great things look easy? I loved Bridges in The Big Lebowski, so I wasn’t suprised to see him hit a home run with this role. It was great to see him playing off the affable persona that he usually projects and twisting it into something menacing.

6. Kym - May 12, 2008

Just a lonely hint—We’re watching Season 2.5 now ON YOUR RECOMMENDATION. Not that I’m trying to make you feel guilty for not posting…

7. Chris - May 13, 2008

Hidden guilt message received! I’ve been lame…strange to say, but I’m still adjusting to moving. My blogging routines have all gone haywire. Anyhow, I’ve got one in draft form that I need to revise and I’ll post it soon. Enjoy Season 2.5! Great things to come!

8. Kym - May 13, 2008

The whole Pegasus episode is really intense.

Speaking of —what’s with the repeat of part of the episode from season 2.0 to 2.5? Do you know?

9. Chris - May 13, 2008

I think they added a few scenes to the episode in 2.5…

Those are great episodes, but the music bugs me for some reason….can’t really put my finger on it, but it always sounds a bit hokey to me…


Leave a Reply

