jump to navigation

New BSG TV Movie Details July 1, 2008

Posted by Chris in Battlestar Galactica (Re-imagined).
Tags: ,
trackback

[[[SPOILER ALERT (Kym)]]]

Details are starting to come out about the proposed BSG movies.  According to Galactica Sitrep the first of three (?) planned movies will likely include Dean Stockwell (Cylon Brother Cavill), Michael Trucco (Final Five Cylon Anders), Aaron Douglas (Final Five Cylon Chief Tyrol), Grace Park (Cylon Boomer/Athena), Michael Hogan (Final Five Cylon Col. Tighe) and Katee Sackhoff (Starbuck/”The Harbinger of Death”).  The composition of this cast suggests we may be in for some Cylon skinjob backstories in this movie.  I’m game.

Jane Espenson (Firefly and BSG writer/producer) will write the script and Edward James Olmos will direct.  According to io9, Espenson is an excellent choice since she seems to have a knack for writing episodes showing insights into the Cylon perspective, while Olmos has directed some of the more lackluster episodes.

Comments»

1. Kym - July 3, 2008

I should have told you that I took speed reading and learned to skip headlines. I’ve tried breaking the habit but, no success. So, I read the whole thing going…”Grrr, he gets me to watch the shows with the promise of great reviews, writes a few, then throws spoilers my way!”

I guess you tried to warn me. But Cheif Tyrol?????

I’m not sure I’m recovering from the shock.

2. Chris - July 3, 2008

Speed reading! No fair…so what’s the magic method to warn you? Oh well….

The Chief! That was a bit of a shocker, even though you’ll see some hints of it as you go along (are you into Season 3 yet?). Col. Tighe was an even bigger shock for me, since he’s such a hardened, anti-Cylon character. The season 3 and 4 episodes where they find out are really good, showing how each of their characters come to grips with the news.

And yes, I’m suffering from bloggers block on my reviews. Maybe I’m setting my own standards too high for what I want to accomplish with them, and I’m avoiding doing them because they require too much effort. I’m not sure what the answer is…perhaps lower my personal expectations and make the reviews less formal/polished.

3. Kym - July 3, 2008

We just started season 3 and haven’t had any hints yet.

Don’t hate writing the reviews. If it gets too horrible quit but…I love the quality of your writing. I enjoy the insights and I miss them.

4. Chris - July 4, 2008

Hey! Now that you’re into Season 3, you can start reading my older posts. I reviewed all but the last two or three episodes of Season 3.

The first three or four episodes of Season 3 are some of the best in the whole series. Have fun with them.

I’m not hating writing the reviews, but I’m feeling like I’ve needed a break from them. Maybe a revised set of self-imposed expectations for them is in order.


Leave a Reply

