jump to navigation

News of the ‘Verse: Bible Thumping Replaces Firefly August 27, 2008

Posted by Chris in Firefly, Interesting News.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Wow, I haven’t gone to News of the ‘Verse in a while but I clicked the link from my blog and it seems that it’s no longer a Firefly fan site. It now appears to be a site devoted to Christian spin/news.  It’s sad to see a Firefly fan site go down.  Is this heralding the slow decline of Firefly’s popularity among its once-rabid fan-base?  What a bummer…I guess Jesus has his own rabid fan-base as well, but I have to believe that even Sheppard Book is rolling in his grave at this development.  Joss:  I think we need a little Deus Ex Machina on this one…

Comments»

1. Kym - August 28, 2008

Ouch, that hurts!

There were a group of us who wanted to support Firefly. We came up with a plan to unite Firefly news from all the sites at News of the verse and we also planned a zine (Big damn Zine.) Eventually, three of us went to work on News of the Verse. We did pretty well for awhile but we had a disagreement on how much one could “adjust” another posters writing. I said we had to follow basic quote rules. Ellipses where words were deleted, brackets where words were added. This was felt to be naive by the other two and I backed out.

Eventually, the third guy dropped out and the first indicated he wasn’t interested anymore after awhile. I sent him an email offering to take over the domain. He never responded.

Apparently, he is choosing to sell the domain. I think I would have purchased it earlier if he hadn’t asked too much. Now my heart isn’t in it anymore.

I don’t think Firefly is losing popularity but I think its fans are losing hope. At least, I am.

2. Chris - August 28, 2008

I didn’t know you were at the heart of that site, too. I’m impressed at your involvement, and sorry to hear that the three of you couldn’t work it out. It’s sad to see fans losing hope. I would say that Joss, Universal and Fox should sit up and take notice that the enthusiasm is draining away.

3. Kym - October 14, 2008

I just want to point out that Joss isn’t the only one who should sit up and take notice that fans are slipping away :Scolding mother face:

I miss your posts!

4. Chris - October 14, 2008

I know, I know….I don’t know why I lost my mojo….I keep thinking I’ll get back to it, but things seem to get in the way. Thanks for keeping the flame…

5. Kym - November 28, 2008

Happy Holiday, guy. I miss you.

6. Chris - December 2, 2008

Hey, Kym. Sorry I’ve been so slow to respond. I’ve had a cold for the past 3 weeks that I can’t seem to shake….it’s really gettin’ me down. I haven’t even been on the Internet for a week (that must be serious!). Feeling better now. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving!

7. Kym - December 6, 2008

I did. I hope now that you are a bit better, you are going to enjoy Christmas.

Chris - December 10, 2008

Thanks, Kym. I feel like I’m done with that stupid cold and now I’m looking forward to Christmas. I hope yours is wonderful.

8. Kym - December 27, 2008

I hope Christmas was Merry.

9. Kym - July 24, 2009

Hi, guy!

Chris - September 6, 2009

Hey there! Sorry I didn’t see this comment ’till now. I hope you had a wonderful summer. We passed through your neck of the woods on vacation again this year, but needed to hot-foot it back home so we drove straight through for 10 hours — you know what that’s like with young kids in the car — fun, fun! Anyways, couldn’t stop and see you this year either, but next year might work out better. Take care!

10. Kym - May 28, 2010

Just a note to say “Hi!”

Chris - August 10, 2010

Hi Kym,

Like last year, sorry I missed this note from you. Hope you’re doing well.

-Chris


Leave a Reply

